Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Front Page

EC City Council races contested

Most of the incumbents runningface challengers

  • Ballot-Box-120315-jpg-4

All five Eau Claire City Council members who represent specific districts are up for election April 3, and all but one will face competitors for their spot.

Tuesday was the filing deadline for the spring elections.

District 1 City Council incumbent Tim Tewalt will run against Emily Berge. David Klinkhammer, incumbent for District 2, will run against Emily Anderson. In District, 3, incumbent Kathy Mitchell is up against Jeremy Gragert. District 4 incumbent Bob Von Haden will run against Jill Christopherson. Andrew Werthmann will run again for his seat unopposed in District 5.

A special election also will be held for a one-year term for the position held by incumbent Terry Weld. One of the six at-large members of the council, Weld was appointed to fill the seat of Eric Larsen, who resigned to work as a consultant with the Eau Claire Police Department. Weld will run again for that spot, as will Zachary Meives.


All incumbents with seats up for election for the Altoona City Council will run again unopposed. 

Those candidates are Brendan Pratt for mayor, Dale Stuber in District 1, Red Hanks in District 2 and Andrew Schlafer in District 3.


Even-numbered wards and the mayor’s seat are up for election in Menomonie, and all six positions will be on the April ballot uncontested. All positions are two-year terms.

Those seats include Mayor Randy Knaack, Jan Traxler (Ward 2), Robin Sweeny (Ward 4), Lee Schwebs (Ward 6), Mary Solberg (Ward 8) and Ryland Erdman (Ward 10).

Chippewa Falls

The three Chippewa Falls City Council members up for re-election all plan on returning to their seats, and none faces competition this April.

Council President Rob Kiefer (Ward 2), Chuck Hull (Ward 4) and Paul Nadreau (Ward 6) all filed for re-election ahead of Tuesday’s deadline.

Kiefer was appointed to the council in June 2013. Nadreau was appointed in May 2015. Hull was appointed in 2006, but he lost the seat in 2008 to Jason Anderson. He won it back in 2010 when Anderson didn’t seek a second term and he’s held it since then.


Click to comment

© 2018 Leader-Telegram, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved.

To Top
Applying filter…