Friday, October 19, 2018

Front Page

7 candidates seek 4 EC school board seats

Seven Eau Claire school board hopefuls — three of which are incumbents — have filed as candidates for four open seats in the spring election.

Incumbents Joe Luginbill, Eric Torres and Lori Bica are running again. Board President Kathryn Duax will not run because she’s moving to Texas to be closer to family.

Others to file candidacy paperwork are Joshua Clements, Laurie Klinkhammer, Tim Nordin and John Plewa.

In Altoona, school board member Mike Hilger faces a challenge from Richard Risler Jr. in the only contest on the ballot. 

A Feb. 20 primary election will reduce the number of candidates for the Menomonie school board from seven to six.

Three incumbents are seeking re-election — James Swanson, Penny Burstad and Urs Haltinner. Others running are John Strey, Patricia Thompson, Chris Freeman and Shayna Lund.

Four candidates have filed for the two open seats on the Chippewa Falls school board.

Incumbent Pat Allen will be joined on the ballot by challengers Sharon McIlquham, Steven J. Olson and Ross Spitz. Incumbent Staish Buchner, who was elected in 2012, has filed a noncandidacy form.

Allen, who was elected in 2012, said she is seeking her third 3-year term. Spitz ran for a school board seat in April 2017 but finished third; only the top two vote-getters won the seats.

Chippewa Falls school board seats are three-year terms, and there aren’t any wards or districts. Anyone living in the boundaries of the school district can apply for a seat.


Click to comment

© 2018 Leader-Telegram, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved.

To Top
Applying filter…