Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Front Page

Candidates vie for mayoral seats

  • Vote-1

    Staff photo
    Buy This Image

Three west-central Wisconsin cities — Mondovi, Ladysmith and Barron — will have contested mayoral races in the spring elections.

In Mondovi, incumbent Treig Pronschinske, also a Republican representing the 92nd Assembly District, will face a challenge from Brady Weiss.

By contrast, incumbent mayors Marty Reynolds in Ladysmith and David Vruwink in Barron are not seeking re-election. 

Vying to replace Reynolds are James West and Alan Christianson Jr., son of Ladysmith’s city administrator. Rod Nordby and Ron Fladten are running for mayor in Barron.

Following is a list of contested municipal races in regional cities, with (I) designating incumbents:

Augusta: Ward 2, Sondra Larson, John Deering.

Barron: Mayor, David Vruwink (I) not running, Rod Nordby, Ron Fladten.

Black River Falls: Ward 4, Joel Busse (I), Brady Palmer.

Bloomer: None contested.

Chetek: None contested.

Durand: Three at-large city council seats, Clarence Weissinger (I), Don Hayden (I), Herb Schneider, Terry Hartung, Travis Hooker, Denise Polzer.

Independence: None contested.

Ladysmith: Mayor, Marty Reynolds (I) not running, James West, Alan Christianson Jr.; Ward 4, Ron Moore (I), Jonathan Goodman Fields.

Mondovi: Mayor, Treig Pronschinske (I), Brady Weiss; Ward 1, Sara Erickson (I) not running, Jeffrey Grochowski, Angie Risen; Ward 3: Jacob Avery (I), Greg Bauer.

Osseo: None contested.

Rice Lake: None contested.

Thorp: None contested.

Whitehall: Mayor, Dan Schreiner (I) not running, Jeff Hauser; Ward 3, Jeff Hauser (I) not running, Barb Mathson, Chad Schneider.

Click to comment


© 2018 Leader-Telegram, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved.

To Top
Applying filter…