Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Front Page

Eau Claire County Board to pick new leader

Swearing in will be on Tuesday

Members of the Eau Claire County Board will choose a new leader on Tuesday following a decade of Gregg Moore as chairman.

Moore, who represented District 17 on the board for the last 14 years, opted not to seek re-election so he could follow other pursuits in retirement.

The 29 county supervisors will vote on a new chairperson during the 7 p.m. Tuesday meeting at the courthouse, 721 Oxford Ave.

The chairperson’s primary duty is to conduct County Board meetings, but also help set the agenda, serve as a spokesperson and have a seat on the Administration Committee.

A vice chairperson and second vice chairperson also will be elected during the meeting, and only one of those positions has an incumbent still on the board.

Supervisor Colleen Bates, who has served as vice chairwoman, did get re-elected on April 3 to another two-year term on the board.

However, the incumbent second vice chairwoman, Kathleen Clark, opted not to seek re-election.

The vice chairperson positions lead meetings when the chairperson is absent, and they also are on the Administration Committee.

Tuesday’s meeting will begin with the swearing in of all 29 supervisors, including eight new ones succeeding incumbents who opted not to run again or lost their seats in the April 3 election.

Supervisors also will submit their preferences for committees, commissions and boards they want to serve on. The chairperson and vice chairs will meet at 11 a.m. Wednesday to review those preferences and decide which supervisors will serve on those groups.

Click to comment


© 2018 Leader-Telegram, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved.

To Top
Applying filter…