Hermann takes home Cavaliers' MVP award

posted Aug. 25, 2016 12:13 a.m. | updated Aug. 25, 2016 12:13 a.m. (CDT)
email article print
font size - +
by / Leader-Telegram staff

After batting .411 and leading the team with 40 RBIs, Tyler Hermann was named the winner of the Eau Claire Cavliers’ Richard O’Brien Memorial Most Valuable Player Award. 

Hermann, who also took home the team’s Leading Hitter honors and the Dave Johnson Team Captain Award, had four home runs, 14 doubles, a slugging percentage of .612 and a .487 on-base percentage this summer for the Cavaliers (25-16).

Brian Dickow, who was 8-3 with a 1.20 ERA and logged a team-high 82 2/‚Äč3 innings, was given the Harv Tomter Memorial Best Pitcher Award. He also had a team-best 83 strikeouts.

Jordan Wilson was the recipient of the Ham Olive Best First-Year Player Award. Wilson hit .393 with a homer, nine doubles, five triples and 38 RBIs.

The Dave Hepfler Memorial Key Player Award went to Sam Prissel, who batted .290 with 14 RBIs and 12 stolen bases.

Matt Kent, who had a productive summer by hitting .313 with 15 RBIs, was given the Sam Kruger Memorial Service Award.

The Cavaliers finished 11-3 in the Independent League and tied for second place with the Brill Millers. The Hayward Hawks won the league title with a 13-1 record. 

The Cavaliers were bounced in the first round of the Wisconsin Baseball Association playoffs, losing 9-6 to La Crescent.