Sunday, October 21, 2018


Seven Badgers named to All-Big Ten first-team

  • Wisconsin-Indiana-Football-3

    Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor runs the ball against Indiana on Nov. 4.

    Associated Press

Wisconsin took home two of the four major Big Ten Awards handed out by the Associated Press on Wednesday.

Paul Chryst won another Big Ten coach of the year after earning the honor from both the conference’s coaches and media last week. He’s compiled a 33-7 record at UW and won two Big Ten West titles in three years.

True freshman running back Jonathan Taylor was named the conference’s newcomer of the year after rushing for 1,847 yards and 13 touchdowns on 273 carries this season. His yardage total ranked third nationally.

Taylor also became one of 11 Badgers to earn All-Big Ten honors by the AP, including seven first-team selections.

The other first-team selections were left tackle Michael Deiter, right guard Beau Benzschawel, tight end Troy Fumagalli, linebacker T.J. Edwards, cornerback Nick Nelson and safety D’Cota Dixon.

Deiter and Benzschawel, both three-year starters, started all 13 games this season and helped pave the way for Taylor’s breakout year. Fumagalli caught 43 passes for 516 yards and four touchdowns.

Edwards, a junior who could opt to leave UW early for the NFL, recorded 75 tackles, 11 for loss, two sacks, four interceptions and one touchdown. Nelson broke a school record with 20 pass breakups, while Dixon ranks fourth on the team with 52 tackles despite being limited for much of the second half of the season.

The second-team selections were right tackle David Edwards, defensive end Conor Sheehy, linebacker Garret Dooley and kicker Rafael Gaglianone.

Penn State’s Saquon Barkley was named the offensive player of the year for the second straight season and Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell was the defensive player of the year.

Barkley held down two spots, as a running back and as an all-purpose player for his kick returns. He has rushed for over 100 yards in four games, including a 211-yard night against Iowa, and caught 47 passes for 594 yards and three TDs..

Jewell, a second-team pick last year, had 13½ tackles for loss, 4½ sacks, two interceptions and 11 pass breakups.





WR — Simmie Cobbs, Indiana, 6-4, 220, Jr., Oak Park, Ill.; D.J. Moore, Maryland, 5-11, 215, Jr., Philadelphia.

T — Michael Deiter, Wisconsin, 6-6, 328, Jr., Curtice, Ohio; Jamarco Jones, Ohio State, 6-5, 310, Sr., Chicago.

G — Michael Jordan, Ohio State, 6-7, 310, So., Canton, Mich.; Beau Benzschawel, Wisconsin, 6-6, 317, Jr., Grafton, Wis.

C — Billy Price, Ohio State, 6-4, 312, Sr., Austintown, Ohio.

TE — Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin, 6-6, 248, Sr., Aurora, Ill.

QB — J.T. Barrett, Ohio State, 6-2, 220, Sr., Wichita Falls, Texas.

RB — Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 230, Jr., Coplay, Pa.; Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin, 5-11, 214, Fr., Salem, N.J.

PK — Griffin Oakes, Indiana, 5-10, 198, Greenwood, Indiana.

All-Purpose — Saquon Barkley, Penn State, 5-11, 230, Jr., Coplay, Pa.


DE — Nick Bosa, Ohio State, 6-4, 270, So., Fort Lauderdale, Fla; Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State, 6-4, 265, Sr., Tarboro, N.C.

DT — Maurice Hurst, Michigan, 6-2, 280, Sr., Westwood, Mass; Dre’Mont Jones, Ohio State, 6-3, 295, So., Cleveland.

LB — Josey Jewell, Iowa, 6-2, 236, Sr., Decorah, Iowa; T.J. Edwards, Wisconsin, 6-1, 244, Jr., Lake Villa, Ill.; Tegray Scales, Indiana, 6-0, 230, Sr., Cincinnati.

CB — Josh Jackson, Iowa, 6-1, 192, Jr., Corinth, Texas; Nick Nelson, Wisconsin, 5-11, 208, Jr., Glenarden, Md.

S — Marcus Allen, Penn State, 6-2, 207, Sr., Upper Marlboro, Md.; D’Cota Dixon, Wisconsin, 5-10, 204, Jr., Oak Hill, Fla.

P — Ryan Anderson, Rutgers, 6-1, 203, Sr., DeWitt, Mich.



WR — Stanley Morgan Jr., Nebraska, 6-1, 195, Jr., New Orleans; DaeSean Hamilton, Penn State, 6-1, 206, Sr., Fredericksburg, Va.

T — David Edwards, Wisconsin, So., 6-7, 315, Downers Grove, Ill.; Mason Cole, Michigan, 6-5, 297, Sr., Tarpon Springs, Fla.

G — Sean Welsh, Iowa, 6-3, 295, Sr., Springboro, Ohio; Ben Bredeson, Michigan, 6-5, 308, So., Hartland, Wis.

C — Brian Allen, Michigan State, 6-2, 302, Sr., Hinsdale, Ill.

TE — Mike Gesicki, Penn State, 6-6, 250, Sr., Manahawkin, N.J.

QB — Trace McSorley, Penn State, 6-0, 195, Jr., Ashburn, Va.

RB — Justin Jackson, Northwestern, 5-11, 200, Sr., Carol Stream, Ill.; J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State, 5-10, 208, Fr., La Grange, Texas.

PK — Rafael Gaglianone, Wisconsin, 5-11, 232, Jr., Sao Paulo, Brazil.

All-Purpose — JD Spielman, Nebraska, 5-9, 180, Fr., Eden Prairie, Minn.


DE — Rashan Gary, Michigan, 6-5, 281, So., Plainfield, N.J.; Chase Winovich, Michigan, 6-3, 253, Sr., Jefferson Hills, Pa.; Conor Sheehy, Wisconsin, 6-4, 293, Sr., Milwaukee.

DT — Gelen Robinson, Purdue, 6-1, 280, Sr., Schererville, Ind.

LB — Paddy Fisher, Northwestern, 6-4, 245, Fr., Katy, Texas; Devin Bush, Michigan, 5-11, 225, So., Pembroke Pines, Fla.; Khaleke Hudson, Michigan, 6-0, 205, So., McKeesport, Pa.; Garret Dooley, Wisconsin, 6-3, 246, Sr., Rochester, Ill.

CB — Denzel Ward, Ohio State, 5-11, 191, Jr., Macedonia, Ohio; Lavert Hill, Michigan, 5-11, 177, So., Detroit.

S — Godwin Igwebuike, Northwestern, 6-0, 212, Sr., Pickerington, Ohio; David Dowell, Michigan State, 6-1, 191, So., North Ridgeville, Ohio.

P — Blake Gillkin, Penn State, 6-2, 195, So., Smyrna, Ga.

Offensive Player of the Year — Saquon Barkley, Penn State.

Defensive Player of the Year — Josey Jewell, Iowa.

Coach of the Year — Paul Chryst, Wisconsin.

Newcomer of the Year — Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin.

Click to comment


© 2018 Leader-Telegram, Eau Claire, WI. All rights reserved.

To Top
Applying filter…