U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos recently announced the selection of Katrina Pokorny of Waupun, who attends Waupun Senior High School in Waupun, as a 2019 U.S. Presidential Scholar.

Pokorny serves as chapter president of the Waupun FFA and is one of 161 outstanding American high school seniors who demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, artistic excellence, technical expertise, leadership, citizenship, service, and contribution to school and community.

She, along with other U.S. Presidential Scholars, will be honored for their accomplishments in Washington, D.C., June 23-25.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Since 1983, each U.S. Presidential Scholar has been offered the opportunity to name his or her most influential teacher, with each distinguished teacher honored with a personal letter from the Secretary of Education. Pokorny chose to recognize Tari Costello, an agriculture education teacher at Waupun Senior High School.