Wisconsin potato growers have until April 1 to nominate three members to the industry’s market order board. Districts 1, 2 and District-at-large are eligible to nominate board members or be nominated.

Growers should have received a nomination form in the mail, or they can find a form online at https://datcp.wi.gov/Pages/Growing_WI/PotatoBoard.aspx. Eligible growers also can request nomination forms by contacting Market Orders Program Manager Debbie Gegare at 608-224-5116 or Debbie.Gegare@Wisconsin.gov.

Each nomination form must include signatures of at least five eligible potato growers, other than the nominee, from the district in which the nominee is running for office. An Affidavit of Eligibility is located on the nomination form and must be completed and notarized.

Send completed forms to Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection, Marketing Order Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708-8911. Forms must be postmarked on or before April 1, 2019.

The open positions represent the following:

District 1: Ashland, Barron, Bayfield, Brown, Burnett, Chippewa, Clark, Door, Douglas, Dunn, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Iron, Kewaunee, Langlade, Lincoln, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Oneida, Pepin, Pierce, Polk, Price, Rusk, Sawyer, St. Croix, Taylor, Vilas, and Washburn counties.

District 2: Marathon, Outagamie, Portage, Shawano, Waupaca and Waushara counties.

District-at-large: Producers from throughout the state.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection will conduct the Wisconsin Potato Industry Board election from May 15 to June 10. Elected board members will serve from July 1, 2019, to June 20, 2022.

The nine-member board is responsible for collecting and allocating about $1.5 million in annual assessment fees paid by Wisconsin potato growers. The money is used to support the industry through research, market development and consumer education.