River Alliance of Wisconsin is proud to recognize river and water advocates from across the state. Being recognized are five River Champion award recipients and nearly 40 Water Heroes nominated by peers, colleagues and River Alliance staff and Board for their work to protect and restore Wisconsin’s waters.

The 2018 River Champion award winners are: Wisconsin’s Green Fire: Voices for Conservation; Menominee Indian Tribe of Wisconsin, Keshena; Barb Gifford, Plover; Bill Schultheis, Oconomowoc; and Topf Wells, Madison. 

The most recent recipients of the Water Heroes recognition are: Baird Creek Preservation Foundation, Green Bay; Kesha Patel, Sturtevant; Dean Hoegger, Sturgeon Bay; John Roberts, Aurora; Mary Dougherty, Bayfield; Michelle Nault, Green Bay; Mark Cupp, Muscoda; Criste Sullivan-Greening, Wisconsin Rapids; Sarah Grainger, Viroqua; Jim Hlaban, Ogdensburg; Kent Johnson, Hudson; Cassandra Erickson, De Pere; David Taylor, Verona; Lee Stedman, Waukesha; Francie Rowe, Pleasant Lake; Gordan Stevenson, Black Earth; Craig and Matthew Oehmichen, Colby; Gary Horvath, River Falls; Karen Fischer, Fond du Lac; Michana Buchman, Fitchburg; The Wolf Run Association, Mazomanie; Andrew Lamberson, Hudson; and Kathleen Hanson, Middleton. 

Recipients will be recognized at River Alliance’s River Bash from 5:30 to 8 p.m. on Sept. 27 at The East Side Club in Monona. Tickets are available online at: www.wisconsinrivers.org/​2018-river-bash.