Ballot Boxes

Voters in several primary elections in west-central Wisconsin will winnow the field of candidates who will go on to appear on April 2 ballots.

While there is no statewide election today, there are primaries for hotly contested local government races and a recall election for one rural school district.

Hopes to get a seat on the Eau Claire City Council will end for the two bottom vote-getters out of the 12 people running in today’s primary. The 10 winners will go on to compete in spring’s election for the five at-large seats on the council.

Incumbents Catherine Emmanuelle and Kate Beaton; former Councilman David Klinkhammer; and newcomers Kirk Ausman, Chandler Lorentz, Kate Martin, Laura Benjamin, Donald Motzing, Dale Poynter, Echo Reardon, John Lor and Kyle Woodman are on today’s ballot. Eau Claire voters can pick up to five.

A race for an open Barron City Council seat is shaping up to make history for the community with a growing Somali population.

Isaak Mohamed and Faisal Ahmed — the first Somali men to run for public office in Barron — are competing with Barron native Paul Solie in today’s primary.

Voters can pick one and the top two finishers will appear on the April 2 ballot.

A rural school district will decide today whether two school board members should be ousted.

Flambeau school district, which is primarily in Rusk County but also small parts of Chippewa, Taylor and Price counties, is holding recall elections for two school board positions.

President Sam Stewart is facing challenger Sara Baker, and board clerk Danielle Zimmer is facing off against Ruth E. Opachan.

Petitioners collected 579 signatures opposing Stewart’s re-election late last year and 569 against Zimmer getting another term. A minimum of 398 signatures was required to force a recall election.

Three men are vying to serve as mayor of the Clark County city of Owen in today’s primary.

Incumbent Charlie Milliren faces challengers Robert Wilczek and Kevin Molitor. Today’s top two vote-getters will advance to the spring election.

Races in two Chippewa County school districts also attracted enough contenders to warrant a primary.

Seven people — incumbents Donna Albarado and Char Seibel, plus challengers Holli Sande, Kathryn Siverling Vander Molen, Brad Sonnentag, Richard Vander Molen and Alan Sonnentag — are running for three seats on the Cadott school board. The person who comes in last in today’s election will not appear on April 2 ballots.

One seat on the Cornell school board is sought by three candidates. Incumbent Greg Baker faces challengers Josh Schwingle and Donna J. Kendall today with the top two continuing on to the spring election.

Polls are open 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. today. Voters must bring valid government-issued photo ID at the polls. For the location of your polling place and other voting information, go online to or contact your local municipal clerk’s office.

Contact: 715-833-9204,, @ADowd_LT on Twitter