YOUTH ROTARS: Six area high school seniors were honored in March by the Eau Claire Noon Rotary Club.

Memorial High School: Andrea Wynkoop, daughter of Ellen and Bob Wynkoop.

Wynkoop received the E2 Award four times during her high school career.

She was a member of the swimming team for two years and participated in two school plays.

Wynkoop plays the cello, piano and guitar and was first cellist or two years for the Chippewa Valley Youth Symphony.

She was a member of the Eau Claire Adventurers 4-H Club for six years and has volunteered at the Eau Claire County Humane Association.

Wynkoop will attend UW-Madison but is undecided about a major. She hopes to pursue a career in medicine or environmental studies.

Memorial High School: Andrew Urlaub, son of Jeff and Michelle Urlaub.

Urlaub is a ski jumper and has been a member of the U.S. Junior National Ski Jumping Team from 2017-19.

He is also a ski jumping volunteer coach for the Flying Eagles Ski Club.

Urlaub plans to attend the University of Utah but is undecided about a major.

He plans to continue ski jumping through the 2022 Olympics.

North High School: Alexandra Thomas, daughter of Kimberly and William Thomas.

Thomas is a four-year member of the track, cross country and dance teams. She also served as dance captain.

Thomas is a member of Key Club, Student Council, Students Against Destructive Decisions, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Youth Leadership Eau Claire.

She received a Big Rivers Conference Academic All-Conference award and an Effort and Excellence Award.

Thomas completed a community service project for Habitat for Humanity, was a delegate for Badger Girls State and was in the Girl Scouts.

Thomas plans to attend St. Norbert College to major in psychology. She hopes to become a clinical psychologist.

North High School: Emily Zawacki, daughter of Bob and Brenda Zawacki.

Zawacki is a member of Student Council, Key Club and the National Honor Society, and played on the girls tennis team.

She participated in Youth Leadership Eau Claire and Badger Girls State.

Zawacki was Academic All-Conference in 2017.

She volunteers at Hope Lutheran Church, Feed My People Food Bank, Dove Healthcare and local elementary schools.

Zawacki will attend UW-Eau Claire to major in elementary education.

Regis High School: Laura Sokup, daughter of Michael and Mary Sokup.

Sokup participated in volleyball, basketball, track and field and forensics.

She is a member of the National Honor Society, Students Against Destructive Decisions and Pep Club.

Sokup is a mentor for elementary school students, participated in Youth Leadership Eau Claire and helps out at youth sports camps.

Sokup has volunteered at The Community Table, Feed My People Food Bank and the Eau Claire Marathon.

Sokup will attend UW-Eau Claire to major in elementary education. She wants to become an elementary school teacher and possibly a high school track coach.

Altoona High School: Jakob Meyer, son of Scott and Sue Meyer.

Meyer is the school’s president for the National Honor Society and received the School Pride Award and Student of the Month Award.

He is a member of the basketball, cross country and track and field teams. He was a captain for all three teams.

Meyer has volunteered at the Feed My People Food Bank. He also served Thanksgiving lunch to elementary school students and raked leaves at an Altoona resident’s home.

Meyer plans to attend Minnesota State University-Mankato to major in nursing. He wants to pursue a career as a nurse anesthetist.

• • •

AWARD: Aimee Lipke has received the University Staff Employee Appreciation Award for February at UW-Stout.

Lipke, of Menomonie, works in custodial services in the Memorial Student Center. She has been employed at UW-Stout for 10 years.

Lipke received a certificate of recognition, a UW-Stout travel mug and a UW-Stout blanket.

Students, faculty and staff may nominate a university staff member who demonstrates a commitment to excellence and the university community.

The award, in its 13th year, was established by the chancellor’s office and is co-sponsored by the University Staff Senate.

• • •

AWARD: Dennis Mickesh of Chippewa Falls received the Lifetime Achievement Award at the Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells.

Mickesh received the award for improving the land survey profession in Wisconsin.

Mickesh served on the Wisconsin Society of Land Surveyors board for several years and was elected president in 1992.

Mickesh was also instrumental in creating the WSLS Foundation, which gives out several scholarships to people studying to become land surveyors.

From staff reports

Contact: 715-833-9207,