ICE FISHING CONTEST: The Cadott Lions’ 63rd Annual Ice Fishing Contest will be from 12:30 to 3:30 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 10, on Pike Lake, which is eight miles north of Cadott.

More than $3,500 in prizes and money will be awarded.

All fish must be of legal size to be eligible.

Participants are asked to bring their own buckets.

Hot lunches and coffee will be served.

Free drawings will be held throughout the afternoon.

• • •

CULTURE LOSS: The L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library, 400 Eau Claire St., will host “On the Way to the Melting Pot — Then and Now: Waldemar Ager and Hmong History and Culture” at 7 p.m. Monday, Feb. 11, in the Eau Claire Room on the library’s lower level.

A Hmong-American educator, True Vue, recently started a Hmong History and Culture Club at Locust Lane Elementary School.

Vue worries about the same things for Hmong culture that troubled Ager 100 years ago when he published his first novel, “On the Way to the Melting Pot.”

Growing up immersed in the Hmong and English cultures, Vue sees her students’ knowledge of Hmong culture going away.

”My generation is losing our language and our culture, and our kids are losing them even more. Part of my mission is to save as much as we can,” Vue said.

During this program, participants will be invited to consider how linguistic and cultural losses and gains — then and now — affect the lives of everyone living in the community.

Program presenters include Vue; Khoua Vang, a Hmong language instructor at UW-Eau Claire and a teacher at Flynn Elementary School; and Pa Sia Moua, a teacher at Flynn Elementary School.

The program is co-sponsored by the Waldemar Ager Association. Registration is not required.

For more information, call 715-839-5004 or send an email to

• • •

FAIREST OF FAIR: Molly McIlquham, the 2018 Northern Wisconsin State Fair’s Fairest of the Fair, took second runner-up at the recent 2019 Wisconsin Association of Fairs annual convention held in Wisconsin Dells.

Contestants competed through various stages including individual and group interviews, a county basket auction, self introductions and other on-stage events.

McIlquham was one of 41 contestants competing for the state Fairest of the Fair title.

“Being selected as second runner-up is a tribute to the experiences she received from her family, 4-H programs and school programs supporting agriculture,” Rusty Volk, executive director of the Northern Wisconsin State Fair Association, said of McIlquham.

• • •

OUTSTANDING MINNESOTAN: Colfax native Bo Weber was recognized by JCI Minnesota as one of the Outstanding Young Minnesotans of 2018.

Weber was honored for his depth of cultural achievements.

In 2013, Weber’s mother died of ovarian cancer. He wrote and released an album in memory of his mother, which was released on Mother’s Day 2017.

Partnering with Minnesota Ovarian Cancer Alliance, Weber gave 100 percent of the album’s proceeds to women battling ovarian cancer.

In 2014, Weber founded Music in, a publication that spotlights local and national artists in the Twin Cities.

With a team of nearly 50 photographers and writers publishing more than 500 articles a year, Weber’s publication supported and helped launch the careers of hundreds of musicians.

Weber is also a full-time graphic designer and videographer for a social media management company in St. Paul.

• • •

FLAVOR CONTEST: Cedar Crest Ice Cream of Cedarburg and the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation have announced that the Springbrook 4-H Club of New Richmond was the winner of the 2018 Ice Cream Flavor Creation Contest.

The club received a Cedar Crest Ice Cream party and $300.

The club, which is led by Jackie Kumm, created the flavor Wisconsin Campfire S’more.

The winning flavor features vanilla ice cream with a toasted marshmallow swirl, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, chocolate chunks and graham cracker crumbles.

Wisconsin Campfire S’more will be introduced in July. It will be a limited-edition flavor available while supplies last at ice cream parlors that serve Cedar Crest products.

Brenda Scheider, executive director of the Wisconsin 4-H Foundation, said the contest is a great opportunity for 4-H youth to work together to develop and name their flavor.

A panel of ice cream experts chosen by Cedar Crest judged the entries.

• • •

SCHOLARSHIPS: Six area college students were awarded $500 scholarships at the 65th annual meeting of the Northwest Regional Builders Exchange.

The recipients are Kelly Carlson of Eau Claire, who is attending Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter Minn.; Lauren Keiser of Eau Claire, who is attending UW-Eau Claire; Taylor Karaba of Thorp, who is attending UW-River Falls; McKayla Moore of Colfax, who is attending UW-Platteville; Adam Pretasky of Colfax, who is attending UW-Madison; and Keelia Poulios of Hudson, who is attending UW-Stout.

Each of these students is the son or daughter of a NWR Builders Exchange member employee.

NWR Builders Exchange will be awarding six $500 scholarships in 2020. The application is available on the news page at

All applicants must be a NWR Builders Exchange member, employee, child of a member or the child of a member’s employee, and planning to attend a college or university in the fall 2019 semester.

• • •

PRIDE AWARD: Several Altoona High School students received a Pride Award for the first semester of the 2018-19 school year.

Pride Awards are given to students who show the qualities of achievement, motivation, and a positive attitude.

Following are the honored students and the teachers who nominated them:

• Trayton Sturz and Kathy Anderson.

• Elizabeth Schwichtenberg and Jeff Ballentine.

• Sydni Yarrington and Jenna Baxter.

• Sedona Van Ert and Dave Boley.

• Avery Wilson and Cheri Bresina.

• Sophia Druckrey and Gary Buske.

• Kylee Andre and Kim Butnick.

• Konnor Rasmussen and Carrie Carlson.

• Jessica Davis and Emily Dressel.

• Savanna Renderman and Erica Emerson.

• Kate Harris and Mel Engen.

• Sam Shiffer and Anita Fairbanks.

• Deklan Boettcher and Kevin Fruit.

• Khalia Mork and Rachel Haling.

• Jordan Wise and Teresa Harp.

• Maryam Kazelka and Jason Lemay.

• Conor McMenamin and Todd Lenz.

• Jackson Anderson and Erin Lynnes.

• Chaize Kruchowski and Steve Marczinke.

• Tanner Thompson and Jeff McLain.

• Melissa White and Jay Mielke.

• Maddi Gilmartin and Amanda Mussehl.

• Eli Cerutti and Kelly Ostrander.

• Grace Nichols and Justin Ranek.

• Dariya Onyshchenko and Krystle Ricci.

• Abigail Proudlock and Andy Riechers.

• Ally Planert and Russ Riehbrandt.

• Kayla Earhart and Jen Robertson.

• Shaylee Beckfield and Angela Roloson.

• Ray Langlais and Brianna Sass.

• Zac Klatt and Julia Setwyn.

• Makenzie Chmelik and Emily Sibilski.

• Logan Strehlau and Amy Thiede and Liz Kaetterhenry.

• Jaxon Allsage and Elissa Upward.

• Isaac Luwuliza-Kakaire and Lori Weinmeister.

• Morgan Leis-Haugen and Kim Youngberg.

• • •

VOLUNTEERS NEEDED: Triniteam Caregivers is seeking volunteers in Chippewa County for its Joy Day program.

Joy Day is a monthly program that provides entertainment, a snack and bingo to the elderly and disabled.

No long-term commitment is required.

For more information, call 715-858-9803.

From staff reports

Contact: 715-833-9207,