MENOMONIE — Dunn County residents went out to the polls to narrow the sheriff race from five candidates to two.

Seeking the position are Republicans Adam W. Zukowski, Kevin Bygd and Jacob T. Ohman, and Democrats Rodney J. Dicus and Randy Knaack.

As of late Tuesday, the Democratic leader was Dicus with 2,032 votes followed by Knaack with 506 votes.

In the Republican race, Bygd led with 1,632 votes, Zukowski had 543 votes and Ohman had 121 votes.

19 of 36 precincts had reported.

The Dunn County sheriff position is a four-year term. Sheriff Dennis Smith, a Democrat, announced he will not run for re-election after this term. Smith has held his elected position for 18 years and has been with the sheriff’s office since 1975.